BOARD OF DIRECTORS

CIFST is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors elected by its members.  The Board of Directors is empowered, through the By-laws of CIFST, to act on behalf of members in order to carry out the goals of CIFST.

The Board of Directors is comprised of:

  • President (also Chair of Executive Committee)
  • President Elect (member of Executive Committee)
  • Past President (Member of Executive Committee)
  • Director – Section Advisory Council Liaison
  • Director – Subject Interest Division Advisory Council Liaison
  • Director – Committee or Special Projects Liaison
  • Director – Committee or Special Projects Liaison
  • Executive Director (non-voting member)

National activities of the CIFST are managed by an Association Management Company (AMC) and an Executive Director.  The Executive Director’s responsibilities include providing governance support to the Board of Directors, the Executive Committee and Sections, as well as the coordination of National Committees, membership, communications and office operations.

Michael Nickerson - President
Organization: Dept. Food & Bioproduct Sciences, University of Saskatchewan
Position: Saskatchewan Research Chair

 

T: 306-966-5030
E: michael.nickerson@usask.ca

Hosahalli Ramaswamy - Past President
Organization: McGill University MacDonald Campus, Dept of Food Science
Position: Professor

 

T: 514-398-7919
E: Hosahalli.Ramaswamy@Mcgill.ca

Robert Kowal - President Elect
Organization: Kriscor & Associates
Position: President

 

T: 416-566-3826
E: rkowal@kriscor.ca

Thomas Gill - Director
Organization: Dalhousie University, PEAS
Position: Professor

 

T: 902-471-4602
E: tom.gill@dal.ca

H.P. Vasantha Rupasinghe - Director
Organization: Dalhousie University, Faculty of Agriculture
Position: Professor

 

T: 902-893-6623
E: vrupasinghe@dal.ca

Joy Shinn - Director
Organization: BioFoodTech
Position: Food Scientist & Business Development Manager

 

T: 902-368-5146
E: jmshinn@biofoodtech.ca

Sara Zborovski - Director
Organization: Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP
Position: Partner

 

T: 416-216-2961
E: sara.zborovski@nortonrosefulbright.com

Doug Duke - Executive Director
Organization: Canadian Institute of Food Science & Technology
Position: Executive Director

 

T: 905-332-2322
E: doug@cifst.ca