2018 CIFST Awards Program

The CIFST Awards recognize the significant contributions of dedicated food and beverage sector professionals working across Canada. Handed out annually, CIFST Awards recipients will be announced and recognized this year during the 2018 National Conference taking place May 27 to 29 in Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON.

Nominations for this year’s CIFST Awards are now being accepted. Each of the awards is listed below along with a brief description of the award and a link to download a nomination form.

Complete details for each of the 2018 CIFST Awards — including award-specific eligibility criteria, nomination procedures and recipient selection process — are available on the downloadable nominations forms on the right. Nominations forms are fillable PDF documents that can be completed and sent electronically, along with any supporting documentation, as an official nomination submission.

Be sure to read nomination procedures carefully and ensure that all required information and documentation is included in your nomination submissions.

The nominations deadline is April 13th. Please note that due to the tight timeline this year, the deadline will not be extended in any award category.

For more information on the CIFST Awards Program, contact Doug Duke, CIFST Executive Director at doug@cifst.ca or call the CIFST National office toll free at 1-844-755-6679.


Institute Award

Awarded to an individual Professional or Retired Member for an outstanding contribution to CIFST.


W. J. Eva Award

Awarded to an individual who has contributed to Canadian food science and technology through outstanding research and service to the industry.


Golden Royal Maybee Award

An achievement award in recognition of an outstanding applied development by a Canadian company or institution in the fields of food production, processing, transportation, storage, or quality control.


Food Industry CEO of the Year

Awarded to the CEO of a company which has made an outstanding contribution to the Canadian food industry.


Food Innovation Award

Awarded to honour an individual or team for outstanding work in food innovation.


Food Safety and Quality Award

Awarded to honour an individual or team for outstanding contribution to the development of food safety and quality within the food processing industry.


Student Leadership Award

Presented to a Student Member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and contribution to CIFST.


Emeritus Membership

Bestows an honorary title upon a member who has retired from his or her vocation and who, in the course of their career, has contributed meritorious service to the food industry and the CIFST.