BOARD OF DIRECTORS

CIFST is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors elected by its members.  The Board of Directors is empowered, through the By-laws of CIFST, to act on behalf of members in order to carry out the goals of CIFST.

The Board of Directors is comprised of:

  • President (also Chair of Executive Committee)
  • President Elect (member of Executive Committee)
  • Past President (Member of Executive Committee)
  • Director – Section Advisory Council Liaison
  • Director – Subject Interest Division Advisory Council Liaison
  • Director – Committee or Special Projects Liaison
  • Director – Committee or Special Projects Liaison
  • Executive Director (non-voting member)

National activities of the CIFST are managed by an Association Management Company (AMC) and an Executive Director.  The Executive Director’s responsibilities include providing governance support to the Board of Directors, the Executive Committee and Sections, as well as the coordination of National Committees, membership, communications and office operations.

Dr. Michael Nickerson - President

Organization: Dept. Food & Bioproduct Sciences, University of Saskatchewan
Position: Saskatchewan Research Chair

 

 

T: 306-966-5030
E: michael.nickerson@usask.ca

Dr. Hosahalli Ramaswamy - Past President

Organization: McGill University MacDonald Campus, Dept of Food Science
Position: Professor

 

 

T: 514-398-7919
E: Hosahalli.Ramaswamy@Mcgill.ca

Mr. Robert Kowal - President Elect

Organization: Kriscor & Associates
Position: President

 

 

T: 416-566-3826
E: rkowal@kriscor.ca

Mr. Louis Ayotte - Director

Organization: Barry Callebaut Canada Inc.
Position: Regional Sales Manager

 

 

T: 450-774-9131
E: louisayotte1@gmail.com

Dr. Steve Cui - Director

Organization: Guelph Research and Development Centre, AAFC
Position: Research Scientist

 

 

T: 226-217-8076
E: steve.cui@agr.gc.ca

Dr. Amy Proulx - Director

Organization: Canadian Food and Wine Institute at Niagara College
Position: Professor and Academic Program Coordinator

 

 

T: 289-219-4819
E: aproulx@niagaracollege.ca

Dr. H.P. Vasantha Rupasinghe - Director

Organization: Dalhousie University, Faculty of Agriculture
Position: Professor

 

 

T: 902-893-6623
E: vrupasinghe@dal.ca

Ms. Jenny Tian - Director

Organization: Bimbo Canada, Grupo Bimbo
Position: Product Developer

 

 

T: 519-829-0963
E: jennytian0105@gmail.com

Ms. Sara Zborovski - Director

Organization: Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP
Position: Partner

 

 

T: 416-216-2961
E: sara.zborovski@nortonrosefulbright.com

Mr. Doug Duke - Executive Director

Organization: Canadian Institute of Food Science & Technology
Position: Executive Director

 

 

T: 1-844-755-6679
E: doug@cifst.ca